T h e U t o p i a n L i b r a r y

w o r k ▪ p l a y ▪ l e a r n ▪ s h a r e

Pew Internet quiz: what’s your type?

I’m still catching up on my email from vacation. One of the goodies I found was the Pew Internet report, A Typology of Information and Communication Technology Users, and an accompanying quiz to help me figure out my technology type. I’m an omnivore! According to Pew, omnivores make up 8 percent of the American public and “use their extensive suite of technology tools to do an enormous range of things online, on the go, and with their cell phones.” We’re “highly engaged with video online and digital content” and creative participants in cyberspace.

Go ahead… take the quiz and tell us your type!

15 May 2007 - Posted by | internet, research

17 Comments »

  1. The survey pegs me as a “connector,” a select group of 7% of the population who “are participants in cyberspace but not at the rate of omnivores.” Connectors “suspect their gadgets could do more for them, and some need help in getting new technology to function properly.” Oh, yes, bring on the fifth graders!

    Comment by Christie | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  2. Cool! I’m a Connector!

    Comment by Dave N. | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  3. I am also a “connector” that is because I like these toys but I don’t want to read all the instruction manuals that they come with.

    Comment by Sue | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m a “productivity enhancer”, who median age is 40 (how appropriate). Productivity Enhancers are frequent users of the Internet esp at work and they link use of their extensive suite of info devices to personal productivity and workplace effectiveness. How true!

    Comment by Susan D. | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  5. Connector’s unite!!

    Comment by Pat | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  6. I am sad to be labeled as a “Lackluster Veteran” which makes up an entirely different 8% of the American public. Not a group with which my librarian pride wants to be associated. Do over! Do over!

    Comment by Holly J. | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  7. I’m a connector which will be a surprise to some since I hate cell phones, but i have all the other gadgets

    Comment by Ricki | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  8. I too am a connector. My cell phone makes me dance everytime it rings. Catgt

    Comment by cathy maassen | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  9. i’m an omnivore! despite being over 10 yrs above the average age of said omnivores.

    Comment by dave free | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  10. I am a well-connected CONNECTOR.

    Comment by Bruce Brigell | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  11. I’m a connector,too.

    Comment by Gudrun | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  12. I am Connected but Hassled. This should surprise no one, least of all me!

    Comment by Mary | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  13. I guess I swing both ways (meaning vegetables and meat products)–omnivore delight!

    Comment by Katy D. | 16 May 2007 | Reply

  14. UUUMMMM – I am light but satisfied.

    Comment by Tobi Oberman | 17 May 2007 | Reply

  15. I am omnivorous, could you guess?

    Comment by jennpb | 17 May 2007 | Reply

  16. Do you think many librarians, including myself, are Connectors?

    Comment by Louise | 17 May 2007 | Reply

  17. I am an Omnivore!

    Comment by Emily | 21 May 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

