T h e U t o p i a n L i b r a r y

w o r k ▪ p l a y ▪ l e a r n ▪ s h a r e

strategically planned

Jenn and I made it through today’s strategic planning meeting with no crashed laptops, interrupted wireless connections, or spilled drinks (although some of my pasta ended up on the table). Jenn did a great job describing the point and purpose of 2.0 technology and its applications in libraries. She dropped a few names, shared highlights from the CiL sessions, and demo’d the Hennepin County Library “comments in the catalog” feature. We were all wowed by the number of patron comments that are already posted about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. We’re hoping to soon crank up our installation of III’s WebPAC Pro module, which will make our catalog just as fun and exciting for our users.

Then it was my turn. My brain is nowhere near as organized as Jenn’s and I’m a very visual thinker. I need to use a lot of words to “draw my thoughts.” And so I did, adding a few more names and session highlights to the mix. Then we closed the curtains and debuted the community toolbar that Jenn and I put together before we left DC. The director asked how quickly I could get the toolbar ready for the public. I told her I could have it ready for external use by tomorrow, but that I really need to get my laundry done so that I can leave for vacation on Sunday. One person offered to do my laundry and another said she’d be willing to take my vacation for me. How’s that for teamwork and 2.0 enthusiasm?!

Our excitement just might be catching on. Stay tuned.

26 April 2007 - Posted by | library 2.0, progress

3 Comments »

  1. Woohoo!!!! Way to go!!!!!

    Comment by Iris | 26 April 2007 | Reply

  2. Awesome! Glad to hear that it went well and the ball is starting to roll. Woohoo indeed.

    Comment by dave free | 27 April 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks you guys! It’s a great feeling.

    Comment by Ruth | 27 April 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

