T h e U t o p i a n L i b r a r y

w o r k ▪ p l a y ▪ l e a r n ▪ s h a r e

why TUL?

The Utopian Library has existed in my mind for several years as a place where library enthusiasts can gather to work, play, learn, and share what they know about what they do best. I’ve always envisioned that my next job would be at The Utopian Library. Since no such place exists in brick and mortar, I created its virtual space while sitting in the lobby of the Crystal City Hyatt between sessions at Computers in Libraries 2007. I’ve been so inspired this week by the work and wisdom of CiL2007 presenters and dinner companions, bar buddies, Twitterers, and Flickrphiles who have made this week so enjoyable.

I left home feeling unsure about how to best implement L2.0 at my library. I will return with renewed enthusiasm for the projects that lie ahead and a brain that is bursting with new information, knowledge, and ideas.

There are many people whose participation at CiL2007 has infused me with inspiration and aspiration. Their blogsites are listed under BLOGROLL. Go see what they’re writing about… they do good work and have so much to share!

18 April 2007 - Posted by | cil2007, welcome

2 Comments »

  1. What better place to start a blog than at CIL? Now next year you’ll get one of the beautiful BLOGGER banners on your name tag, too. 🙂

    Comment by Iris | 18 April 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow, congrats on your new blog! I started, or really restarted, my blog after CIL last year too. And I’m honestly thrilled and honored that you included me in your list of inspirations with other folks who have also inspired me. You were a great sport in the whole straw whistling thing too! I’m looking forward to reading as you guys document what you’re doing. I’ll be part of your Utopian Library anyday.

    My only complaint…why the heck didn’t you guys tell me about this?? 😉

    Comment by dave free | 24 April 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

